BLENHEIM Palace is reviewing requests for refunds on a 'case by case basis' after its fireworks display was branded 'lacklustre'.

The organisers of Saturday's event have said they will consider reimbursing guests, but have not outlined the circumstances in which a refund would be given. 

Earlier, disgruntled visitors to the 'disappointing' fireworks fiasco slammed the ‘pathetic response’ from the palace after hundreds complained about the quality of the sold out event. 

Long queues, a ‘lack organisation’ and a 'disappointing' fireworks display, marred the evening for many of the 6,000 guests who paid between £8 and £12 for a ticket. 

In a statement, the palace apologised and promised to learn from the failings while blaming the high volume of visitors. 

READ AGAIN: Visitors annoyed after fireworks event disappoints

However, the apology, which garnered almost 400 responses, has not gone down well with many visitors calling for refunds or free tickets to other palace events.

Mel Prentice wrote: “Shocking response. You knew how many people were going to attend as you sold all those tickets. Pathetic response!!”

Neil Smith commented: “How can you use the volume as an excuse you know how many tickets you sold so catering for that amount is simple.”

Banbury Cake:

Another unhappy visitor, Rita Sousa, wrote: “ Very disappointed! Mediocre fireworks display, 45 min queues to buy food and drinks, not enough food stalls. I want my money back.”

Also commenting on Facebook,Sue Slater, said: “Very disappointing night and poor response from Blenheim. Waiting 45minutes plus for a coffee was unacceptable. Poor planning for the amount of tickets sold. Halloween spooktacular was a joke. We won't be rushing to buy tickets for future events.”

Organisers have since pointed out that £2 from each ticket was donated to this year’s charity partner, Oxfam.

However the response again drew more ire on social media, with one Facebook user responding: “How can you get away with this? I would rather have donated £2 to charity and not gone!”

Everard Hypolite, from Bicester, attended the display with his two children and said it wasn’t the first time he had heard the palace blame the number of visitors for problems at its events.

He said: “I was flabbergasted when they blamed the number of people again.

“They had the Chinese New Year celebration in February which was also a problem and then they said they didn’t expect the number of visitors.

“This has put me off going to any more events there.”

A number of people also expressed concern for the wildlife in the grounds, with one witness claiming to have seen a goose fly into the palace wall in fright and ‘drop to the floor’.

Banbury Cake:

The statement on the Blenheim Palace Halloween Fireworks display Facebook page reads: "We apologise for your disappointment regarding the Halloween Fireworks event.

"As the event was so popular we received a high volume of visitors, which had an impact on the queues and the experience at times.

"We are in the process of reviewing all feedback to ensure we improve for future events. Thank you for your patience and understanding."

A palace spokesman added: “Clearly our intention was to stage a fabulous event and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise to those people who felt let down and disappointed by their overall experience.

“We are currently looking at event delivery and learnings we can take forward.

“We will be assessing our approach to similar events in future to ensure they reflect our own high standards and commitment to our visitors.”

It is not the first time an event at the palace has fallen short of expectations.

In February, the stately home apologised and refunded people for its Chinese New Year celebration, after admitting it 'fell short' of its usual standards.

READ AGAIN: Palace apologises over 'abysmal' Chinese New Year celebration. 

In 2016 the first ever Countryfile Live show caused a 'traffic disaster' with thousands of visitors trapped in their cars for hours.

READ AGAIN: Thousands trapped in their cars after Countryfile Live causes traffic chaos on first day