Banbury's Michael Meadows overcame atrocious weather conditions at Thruxton to record his fourth win this season in the Porsche Carrera Cup GB Championship.

Meadows drove a superb race in his Redline Racing car as heavy rain and wind made it a challenging race four.

With the track awash, the race started behind the safety car to allow drivers to explore the conditions.

After three laps, the pace car peeled off and the race started in earnest, with Meadows being jumped by Richard Plant (Team Parker Racing), who was actually ahead before they reached the start line.

But Meadows bided his time and edged ahead.

The Banbury man quickly built his lead and eased back over the closing stages, with Ben Barker (Parr Motorsport) second and Rory Butcher (Celtic Speed) third.

“I didn’t get a great start, but once I got ahead it was a lot easier,” said Meadows.

His hopes of a double on the day were dashed as he finished fourth in race two with Daniel Lloyd (JD Pierce with Team Parker) recorded a maiden success from Glynn Geddie (Redline Racing) and Butcher.

OXFORD’S Nathan Harrison fought his way to two top-ten finishes in the Ginetta Junior Championship at Thruxton.

Harrison came seventh and fifth in his Hillspeed Racing car in rounds five and six to remain sixth in the standings.

Charlie Robertson won both races to take over at the top.

Standings (top ten): 1 C Robertson 144pts, 2 N Murray 139, 3 S Fielding 134, 4 A Watson 109, 5 H Woodhead 102, 6 N Harrison 92, 7 O Chadwick 91, 8 K Donegan 79, 9 O Basey-Fisher 71, 10 P Massot 64.

CHIPPING Norton driver Fergus Walkinshaw failed to finish rounds eight and nine of the Michelin Ginetta GT Supercup at Thruxton.

He aquaplaned off the circuit in race one and smashed into a dirt mound.

The Century Motorsport crew worked flat-out to rebuild the car, and Walkinshaw was back on track six laps into race two, but to no avail.

Tom Sharp won both contests.

Standings (top ten): 1 T Sharp 310pts, 2 T Ingram 195, 3 C Breeze 192, 4 H Abbott 152, 5 J Wakefield 138, 6 C White 135, 7 M Hoggarth 121, 8 F Walkinshaw 116, 9 A Richardson 101, 10 J Orton 99.